Return to About Us

Caucus History

The African American Caucus began as the Black Caucus unofficially in the Assembly in 1981 under the leadership of members including but not limited to Willie Brown, Gwen Moore and Diane Watson.


Four years later, in 1985 the caucus chair was Pearl Adams. Many representatives have been active members and advocates for the cause of African Americans in politics and with the democratic party, one of the most prominent today being Maxine Waters, as well as others such as Dr. Shirley Weber, Kamala Harris and many, many more…


Today the chair is the Hon. Darren Parker. He continues to lead the caucus tirelessly in the face of great political adversity.


…who or what else are we missing? Tell us now! This is tab under construction. Please email the administrator with additional information at Thanks for your patience!

Permanent link to this article: